EMAS-Register

 

Good reasons for EMAS

EMAS is more relevant than ever: As a modern management and audit system, it helps the participating organisations to position for the future - by improving their ability to innovate, reduce environmental impact and costs and strengthen their public reputation. With EMAS, organisations raise their awareness for the effects of their own actions. Opportunities for improvement can be identified and weaknesses can be eliminated.

A continuous process is essential for the improvement of environmental performance, which EMAS provides via annual updates of the environmental statement and the revalidation that have to be carried out in regular intervals by external environmental experts.

Experience shows that EMAS organisations have - due to this systematic and transparent approach – benefits and are thus well prepared for the demands of the future. EMAS extensively covers aspects of:

  • climate change
  • resource efficiency
  • legal compliance
  • environmental oriented procurement
  • employee participation
  • transparency and credibility
  • sustainability

Quelle: Umweltbundesamt 2017

Der EMAS-Film des Umweltbundesamtes zeigt, wie EMAS nicht nur Unternehmen, sondern auch Umweltbehörden helfen kann, ihre Ressourcen zur Überwachung der Einhaltung von Umweltvorschriften effizienter zu nutzen.

Climate Protection Climate Protection

Combating progressive climate change is one of the most urgent tasks of our time. Whether it is to improve the energy efficiency in order to minimize greenhouse gas emissions or 'only' own behavioral changes: EMAS is an effective tool to make effective contributions to climate protection.

Resource Efficiency Resource Efficiency

An honest data base is the prerequisite for initiating a continuous improvement process and thus to reduce the consumption of raw and auxiliary materials and the production of waste. Resource efficiency is also cutting costs, which is an important argument - not only in economically difficult times.

Legal Complaince Legal Complaince

The importance of legally compliant behavior in environmental protection has also increased significantly, both internally to avoid unwelcome legal consequences and externally for the reputation of companies and other organisations. The confirmation of compliance is an important added value of the EMAS process. Legal certainty is increased, while liability risks are reduced.

Green Procurement Green Procurement

Both in public procurement procedures as well as for dealing with other companies the EMAS registration is a proof of special systematic environmental commitment. EMAS is no guarantee for new orders, but it increases the chances for new business.

Employee Participation Employee Participation

EMAS is a system that involves all levels of management, including the top management. Special emphasis is put on ensuring that all employees have the opportunity to actively participate in order make the best use of existing expertise and new ideas.

Transparency and Credibility Transparency and Credibility

An increasingly sensitive and critical public calls for more transparency in the activities of businesses and other organisations. All content and figures in the EMAS environmental statement are checked by an independent and state accredited verifier. The EMAS logo visible is the proof of commitment for the environment.

Sustainability Sustainability

In addition to the environmental aspects of economic activity social and societal effects get ever more important. EMAS registered organisations have an excellent basis for an extension of environmental management into a comprehensive sustainability management.

Recognition Recognition

EMAS is recognised in both the environmental and energy field: With EMAS industrial companies meet the basic requirement for the partial refund of energy and electricity tax as well as the special equalization scheme of the EEG in Germany. The obligation for large companies in all industries to carry out energy audits is fulfilled with EMAS.

Further information Further information

A detailed explanation of the benefits of EMAS for companies and other organisations provides the brochure “7 good reasons for EMAS” by the German EMAS Advisory Board (UGA).

Deutsch Deutsch English English

Gute Gründe für EMAS

EMAS ist aktueller denn je: Als modernes Management- und Auditsystem hilft es den teilnehmenden Organisationen, sich zukunftsorientiert aufzustellen – indem sie ihre Innovationsfähigkeit verbessern, ihre Umweltbelastungen und ihre Kosten reduzieren und ihren Ruf in der Öffentlichkeit stärken. Mit EMAS schärfen die Unternehmen das Bewusstsein für die Auswirkungen ihres Handelns, können Verbesserungspotenziale identifizieren und Schwachstellen beseitigen.

Wesentlich für die Verbesserung der Umweltleistung ist der kontinuierliche Prozess, den EMAS anstößt und aufrechterhält und der durch die jährlichen Aktualisierungen der Umwelterklärung und die im regelmäßigen Turnus durchzuführenden Revalidierungen durch externe Umweltgutachter bestätigt wird.

Die Erfahrungen zeigen, dass EMAS-Organisationen aufgrund dieses systematischen und transparenten Vorgehens bereits heute handfeste Vorteile haben und dadurch auch für die Anforderungen der Zukunft gut gerüstet sind.

  • Klimaschutz

    Die Bekämpfung des fortschreitenden Klimawandels ist eine der dringendsten Aufgaben unserer Zeit. Ob es dabei um die Verbesserung der Energieeffizienz (Stichwort Energiemanagement), um die Minimierung von Treibhausgasen oder „nur“ um eigene Verhaltensänderungen geht: EMAS ist ein effektives Instrument, wirksame Beiträge zu mehr Klimaschutz zu leisten.
  • Ressourceneffizienz

    Eine ehrliche Datenbasis ist die Voraussetzung dafür, einen kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozess einzuleiten und dadurch den Verbrauch von Roh- und Hilfsstoffen, das Abfallaufkommen und damit die Kosten zu senken, was nicht nur in wirtschaftlich schwierigen Zeiten ein wichtiges Argument ist.
  • Rechtssicherheit

    Die Bedeutung rechtskonformen Verhaltens im Umweltschutz hat sowohl intern zur Vermeidung unliebsamer Folgeschäden als auch extern für das Ansehen von Unternehmen und Organisationen in den vergangenen Jahren deutlich zugenommen. Die Bestätigung der Einhaltung der Rechtsvorschriften ist ein entscheidender Mehrwert des EMAS-Prozesses. Dadurch erhöht sich die Rechtssicherheit, während Haftungsrisiken reduziert werden.
  • Umweltorientierte Beschaffung

    Sowohl bei öffentlichen Vergabeverfahren als auch bei Ausschreibungen anderer Unternehmen ist die EMAS-Registrierungsurkunde ein Nachweis des besonderen systematischen Umweltengagements. EMAS ist zwar noch keine Garantie für neue Aufträge, aber es erhöht die Chancen bei der Akquisition.
  • Mitarbeiterbeteiligung

    EMAS ist ein System, das von oben und unten lebt. Neben der Einbindung aller Managementebenen, inklusive des Top-Managements, wird besonderer Wert darauf gelegt, dass alle Beschäftigten die Möglichkeit haben, sich aktiv beteiligen zu können. So können vorhandenes Know-how und neue Ideen bestmöglich genutzt werden.
  • Transparenz und Glaubwürdigkeit

    Eine zunehmend sensible und kritische Öffentlichkeit fordert von Unternehmen und Organisationen Einblick in das betriebliche Handeln. Mit der geprüften Umwelterklärung können EMAS-Teilnehmende hier punkten: Auf die Inhalte und Zahlen ist Verlass. Mit dem EMAS-Logo kann der sichtbare Beweis des Engagements für die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit genutzt werden.
  • Nachhaltigkeit

    Neben den ökologischen Aspekten des wirtschaftlichen Handelns rücken soziale und gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen immer mehr in den Vordergrund. EMAS-registrierte Organisationen haben eine hervorragende Basis für die Erweiterung des Umwelt- zu einem umfassenden Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement.
  • Anerkennung

    EMAS ist sowohl im Umwelt- als auch im Energiebereich anerkannt: Mit EMAS erfüllen Unternehmen des produzierenden Gewerbes eine Grundvoraussetzung zur Wahrnehmung des Spitzenausgleichs bei Energie- und Stromsteuer und der besonderen Ausgleichsregelung bei der EEG-Umlage. Auch die Verpflichtung für große Unternehmen aller Branchen zur Durchführung von Energieaudits wird mit EMAS abgedeckt.
Weitere Informationen – schließen
Wenn Sie unsere Webseite weiterhin benutzen, stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu. Klicken Sie auf den folgenden Link, um mehr über die Verwendung von Cookies zu erfahren: Zur Datenschutzerklärung ...